Hugh Sexey Church of England Middle School
Together we believe; Together we achieve

Year 8 Boys' Football - HSMS vs Kings College, Taunton

Under 13s Football


Hugh Sexey's started the game with the kick off and I could see that our boys were very focussed and determined to put on a good display of football.

Kings College scored the first goal in the opening few minutes.  From that moment Hugh Sexey's kept their heads up and moved on, starting to play passing football.


The boys soon worked out that putting the ball wide, and up over their defence, was putting Kings College under huge pressure; it created space for our runners to run through, which in turn lead to us scoring some goals. 

George Nuttycombe tapped in the first goal after a brilliant free kick from Ethan Floyd. Shortly after this George Moss added a brace: the first one he very cleverly took the ball around the keeper to slot it home, and the second was a world -class great finish, that came off the post and rolled into the back of the net.

Spirits were high; the boys started to believe in themselves and kept the ball moving superbly, playing one of the best games of football  I've seen them play all season.  Another goal came from a cool, sublime finish from Ethan Floyd, and then George Moss completed his hat trick making the score  5-1 to HSMS, before half time.


In the second half we changed our game plan, and decided to protect our lead and defend more.  The lads all defended superbly and the game finished 5-1.

A special mention to Ethan Floyd for his brilliant display at Centre Back, to George Moss for a brilliant hat trick, and to Tom Morgan who made his debut for the school team, and was also voted player of the match.

I very much enjoyed watching this match. It was particularly pleasing to see both teams playing with the the correct attitude, and to see them enjoying playing for their school with a smile on their faces.

Well done to everyone involved.



Sam Tucker, Amar Kolattu, Tom Morgan, Ethan Floyd, Ewan Duckett, Nathan Radford (captain) Ronnie Newton, Jake Gillions, George Nuttycombe, George Moss, Sam Relf, Will Flavin, James Ford, Oliver Ballam, Henry Flanagan.


Mr Waterfield